Minimal Interoperability Mechanisms – MIMs

The mission of Open & Agile Smart Cities (OASC) is to unite cities and communities around the world to build a global market for solutions, services, and data based on the needs of cities and communities.

To achieve this mission, OASC champions the Minimal Interoperability Mechanisms (MIMs), a set of practical capabilities based on open technical specifications that allow cities and communities to replicate and scale solutions globally. The MIMs are developed by the OASC Technology Council and governed by the Council of Cities and the Board of Directors.

MIMs provide the technical foundation for procurement and deployment of urban data platforms and end-to-end solutions in cities & communities worldwide.

Scaling Digital Solutions with MIMs 

MIMs at a glance

Currently, OASC features three Minimal Interoperability Mechanisms (MIMs):

  1. Context Information Management
  2. Common Data Models
  3. Marketplace Enablers (Ecosystem Transaction Management)

Two additional MIMs have been proposed and accepted as work items:

  1. Personal Data Management
  2. Fair Artificial Intelligence


minimal interoperability mechanisms